Supreme KTV, Far East Shopping Centre Ken WeChat Banner SingThai Line Stickers, Tryst Teerak, Club Tryst, Teerak
Uber, Grabtaxi, Singapore SingThai Shirt, Rubba, I feel like pablo, kanye west, yeezy

OUR MOTTO & DISCLAIMER: ONE MAN'S PRATA, IS ANOTHER MAN'S PIZZA.

ONE MAN'S MEAT, IS ANOTHER MAN'S POISON.

February 23, 2018, 07:20:07 PM

Author Topic: attachment  (Read 15255 times)

Offline astreal

• Drunk Flower Boy
  • Gong Tao Karma +12/-0
    • Email
Re: Singaporeans Working/Retired in BKK thread
« Reply #8 on: September 25, 2013, 01:21:22 AM »
I have been working in Thailand for 4 years now. I am loving it but have seen many people got burned out.

Some advise i could give regarding career:

1.Don't come Thailand looking for a job and hoping to find one, chances is you won't find one, even if you do, it would be something of a dead end job.

2.Get send over as an expat and negotiate hard and well, taxes here are relatively high compared to Singapore, pending on your wage level. Mine is like 30% therefore it is extremely important you have your company take care of the taxes, driver, accommodation, flight benefits etc before signing on the dotted line.

3. Learn proper business Thai language. Your nightlife Thai language is only meant for nightlife. Most Thai people are quick to judge people, especially people you have to do business with. You have to learn to be different people in different scenarios in order to be successful.   

4. Focus on your career, family first. The nightlife should only play a tiny part of your life. I have personally seen people destroying their career because of the nightlife. There is more to Bangkok/Thailand than just the night life.

5. Thai culture is different, we are guest of their country therefore we should adapt to them and make the best of the situation. Many long term expats can't stop whining how bad it is here cause they keep comparing to their home country. Thailand is uniquely Thailand, there is no where else like it.